Painting Time

We had a lovely time at our Open Studio event this past Saturday! So much so that we are opening again next month. Stay tuned for more details.

Working on getting back to a regular painting schedule. Not always easy to do with everything else going on. I did however, get some time in front of my drawing table today. I worked on a couple of paintings that I shared a few weeks ago. They were started around the same time we had our plumbing problems. Still works in progress, I hope to get them finished up this week.

Work in progress, 12 x 12" oil on canvas, black gesso background.

Work in progress, 12 x 12″ oil on canvas, black gesso background.

The first is another test painting using black gesso. I must admit, I’m really enjoying the way these are turning out! I like how the black background really POPS the colors out from the canvas. I think I see a whole new phase of my art work coming around with the black backgrounds. Who knows? Only time will tell.

Another work in progress, 12 x 12" oil on canvas

Another work in progress, 12 x 12″ oil on canvas

The second painting has a white background, which still has it’s place! I like the airy quality of the lighter background. It feels happier to me too. Something about the color black has always connoted sadness for me. I’m working on getting past that stigma for the sake of the colors.

It can be difficult to let the work flow sometimes. I try to not let what other people think about my work, have an effect on my work. I am human. I WANT people to like my work. More importantly though, I need to like my work. I need to stop feeling the need to explain why I do certain things with my art. When I really cannot explain it.

My art is a feeling, a sense of what could be. It’s impossible to get that across in an abstract way without someone, somewhere having something bad to say about it. At the same time, there is always someone, somewhere that will have something good to say. I prefer to be happy with it no matter what ANYONE says. It’s MY art, MY feelings, MY expression. Not wanting to sound self-centered, it just is what it is. I’m not here to impress anyone. Expressing one’s self is what an artist does, it’s all I can do.

3 responses to “Painting Time

  1. Atta girl! Just keep going!

  2. Pingback: Set all people free! | AngelasArtArea

Leave a Reply

