Creativity: Blue Sun in Progress

First layer of paint on Blue Sun original oil painting

First layer of paint

It feels great to be back to daily painting. Every time I take an extended break from painting and then get back to it I wonder what I was thinking? Painting is my purest form of joy. Nothing lifts my mood better. I’m the first to admit that painting is my therapy. It is more than that, it’s a meditation, a prayer, a trance, a ‘zone’. I guess it’s good to take a break occasionally, it makes coming back to it feel exciting. All the ideas that I’ve marinated on for the past year are bubbling up to the surface. Who knows where it will lead. The unknown is the best part. 🙂

Blue added in on Blue Sun original oil painting

Blue added in

I started this painting on Tuesday and it is still a work in progress. Can you tell the sun is shining in New Mexico this week and last? I’m enjoying the sun motif, I’m such an open book, just look at my paintings and you can see my mood by the colors I use. This color combo reflects the sunny days and bright blue skies of a Spring day in the Land of Enchantment.

More yellow in the background on Blue Sun original oil painting

More yellow in the background

The working title of this painting is “Blue Sun”, but I’m hoping something less generic will turn up by the time it’s finished. The size is 8×10″ and the medium is water mixable oils. Should finish it up at the beginning of next week.

More yellow layered over background on Blue Sun original oil painting

More yellow layered over background

I am taking Fridays off from the studios for the next month or so. Working on getting our house ready to sell. So much to do! Stay tuned for my next blog post on Monday. 🙂 If you don’t want to have to think about it, subscribe to my blog(upper right hand corner of this page) and get notified whenever I post something new. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

