Creativity: Spiral Abstract Series Revisited

Spiral Abstract "Mesmerizing", 8 x 10" oil painting in progress.

“Mesmerizing”, 8 x 10″ oil painting in progress.

Today I worked on a new painting. I’ve truly missed painting daily. I would like to get back to that. I may have to give myself a challenge to make it happen. Haven’t decided what that will be just yet. A painting a day? A larger painting a week? I’ll let you know what I decide in a later post.

My Spiral Abstract Series started way back when in 2002. Throughout the years I have revisited the series and painted series within the series. You may be wondering what is this thing you call a “Spiral Abstract”? Well, I call it the Spiral Abstract Series because every painting starts with a central spiral, usually in yellow. I like to think of it as the “entry point” for my painting.

Staring at a blank canvas can be a bit intimidating if you don’t know where to start. That first twirl of the brush in the counter clock direction is where I start. It breaks up the white of the blank canvas, teasing me with it’s starkness. It’s like taking a jump into the canvas and the spiral is the ripple of the paint spreading over the surface. It represents movement, as if the canvas were spinning out of control.

What comes after the spiral is the abstract part of the painting. It’s expressionist in the process of painting whatever pops into my mind as I mix paint and sometimes use a spray bottle of water to blur lines and create layers of interest.

Sometimes the abstracts morph into something more representational, like a flower or the sun. I paint with oil paints, but because they are water mixable oils, I can use them more like a watercolor. Washes of color rather than brush strokes emerge from the canvas that started out blank and accusing.

The colors, spirals, swirls, marks, flower petals and all elements of the painting come from my Spirit. Called the Muse, God, Holy Spirit, Universe. Whatever you call it, it is something within and without me. It’s all around and it’s the source of all creativity in the Universe. I don’t control it, it tells me where to move the paint to next. Painting is a meditation/prayer for me. It keeps me connected to my source of life. It is my reason for living. It’s the thing I came here to experience.

It’s not easy to describe the creative process. Personally, I think this is because we the artists are merely the channel through which the creative energy passes. It’s a trance state in it’s purest form. I don’t know any other way to say it! So there you go! 🙂 Thank you so much for reading my ramblings! Sign up for blog updates up in the upper right corner of this page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

