Step Four: Replacement (Overcoming my Facebook Addiction)

This was supposed to be step three, but I had a little Backslide. That’s ok though, I’m only human! I’m now working on replacing my addiction with something healthier and better for my career in general. I’m taking an online course in Web Development. I actually signed up for the course over a year ago, but got sidetracked by, you guessed it! FACEBOOK! The one plus side to this sidetrack is the course was recently updated and includes much more information than I would have learned had I finished the course last year as intended.

I’m taking the class on a great site called Udemy. I’ve also taken a Reiki class on the site and I really enjoy the self paced format, not to mention the online access. I don’t have to sit in a classroom on someone else’s schedule, I pick my class time. Of course, this can be good and bad depending on how focused you may be. As in my case, it was bad and then later became a good thing! haha.

The reason I’m taking this class is to refresh my web design skills. It’s been 16 years since I graduated with my Associates in Applied Science for Computer Engineering Graphics! Obviously, things have changed quite a lot online since June 2000! I like to have control of my own websites and it makes sense as a small business owner and artist, to maintain my own web presence. Plus, it gives me something to do online, OTHER than facebooking!

It also makes me feel like I’m accomplishing something. If all goes as intended, you will see some really awesome changes to my websites (I have two, one for my art and the other for my Studio business) in the near future.

Tomorrow, I will share more creativity and what I’ve been working on this week! Hint: I finished the painting I posted the progress pic of yesterday! 🙂 Stay tuned, or better yet, subscribe to my blog in the upper right hand corner! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

