Step two, Facebook Detox

My religion is nature. That’s what arouses those feelings of wonder and mysticism and gratitude in me.
~Oliver Sacks

The logical next step in my quest for ending my addiction to Facebook is detox. I need to get it completely OUT of my system. The best way I know of to stay off the internet and specifically, Facebook, is to get away from any and all wifi networks or modems. This is not an easy thing to do! Thankfully I live in a state with LOTS of empty space and very little LTE signal! My favorite way to get grounded and get away from it all is to go camping!

aaronpaulabernie

Aaron and I with little Bernie while hiking

We headed out Monday around noon and drove a couple hours south and west of Albuquerque to a lovely secluded campsite in the Cibola National Forest. There was a slight signal (3G), but it wasn’t enough to get online. Trust me, I TRIED! (I told you I am addicted!) Just enough signal to get a text message, but not quite enough for facebook, thank goodness!

thewholegang

The whole gang on the hiking trail, Left to right, my brother, Travis, his wife, Charlene, me and Aaron with little Bernie down on the trail

I won’t lie to you and say I haven’t been on facebook since our return to civilization, but  once you break that cycle of obsession, it’s much easier to stay off.

There is nothing better for the soul than a trip to the wilderness and a nice 6 mile hike to detox all of that nasty technology out of your system. Yummy ribs cooked over a campfire, time with loved ones, talking face to face, roasting a few marshmallows, sleeping on the ground. It will cure whatever ails you! Now, if I can keep going with my recovery and STAY off Facebook! I think I can, I think I can! 😉

viewshot

That VIEW was spectacular!

Leave a Reply

