Overcoming my addiction to Facebook

March2016

Hello, my name is Paula Manning-Lewis and I’m a facebook addict. They say the first step is admitting you have a problem. Here you go.

I have been on Facebook since 2009. In those almost 7 years I have spent countless hours, days, heck, MONTHS wasting away my time on this terribly addicting social media website. You could say I’m a facebook expert, I’ve easily spent over 10,000 hours there! I’ve mastered the art of social media. To the extent where I no longer have a life, or at least not much of one, outside of social media. I have successfully transferred all friendships and contacts to facebook. I don’t even HAVE a regular address book anymore.

My poor husband has suffered from being ignored. For years I’ve used the excuse that I was using Facebook as a work tool. I was “selling” my art after all. That was all fine and dandy until they changed the way business pages were seen by my followers. Now, I am just spinning my wheels there. There is no purpose to it other than wasting time, pretending to get some benefit out of social media.

Once I realized I had a problem, I tried to limit my time on the site, with little to no success. I have always considered myself a smart person, I KNOW this addiction is bad for me. I KNOW it’s hurting my business and some of my close relationships.

Now, after a couple of YEARS trying to beat my addiction, I’ve decided to take the bull by the horns and REALLY do something about it! Honestly, I have never been an addictive type personality!

So, I’ve headed back to my blog, to write about my process and possibly during my process, I can help someone else who has the same issue. I am planning to get back to my blogging, something I’ve done since 2000, and let it help me beat my addiction the way the folks in AA use coffee and cigarettes to beat theirs ;-).

My goal is to blog everyday, Monday-Friday. I will let you all in on what’s working for me and when I slip back into my old habits. I feel like I can do this better in the public eye by creating accountability for my actions.

For those of you who may have clicked through to this blog post via my Facebook post, I have my blog automatically set up to share my posts on Facebook. That way, I don’t have to actually GO there to share my blog with all my friends! 😉 Please feel free to say something if you happen to see me ON facebook. I need all the help I can get!

2 responses to “Overcoming my addiction to Facebook

  1. Very brave of you to share this with the world. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

