My 2015 Bio/Artist statement

One of my least favorite tasks when it’s time to revamp my site and shop is to write a new Biography/Artist Statement. I’ve written plenty of them over the years, but it never gets easier to write about myself in third person! I just finished the first draft of my new Bio and I am going to share it with you all here for one BIG reason. Can I ask you all a favor? Will you PLEASE read over this bio and give me some feedback? Not all nicey nice feedback, but REAL no holds barred feedback. Please, let me know what you think? Is the grammar correct? Do any of the sentences sound redundant? Is there a better way to say what I’m saying? Be honest! Thank you in advance for your help and without further ado, here it is!

Paula Manning-Lewis has been a professional artist since the young age of 21. Paula first decided to pursue a career as an artist because she wanted to be able to stay home with her kids. Now that her three sons are grown, she has more time to devote to her favorite past time.

Being creative is her passion. Whether she’s painting on canvas, vinyl records, or recycling old beat up guitars, making drawings for her next coloring book, creating designs for fine art needlepoint or creating functional pieces in fabric on a sewing machine, she lives to be creative. Art is her purpose, spreading love, joy and peace is her goal and living her dream of making a living with her art is nonnegotiable. Art isn’t only something she does it is a spiritual expression from the deepest part of her soul. The art Paula creates is inspired by her Divine Source through daily meditation. Her connection to Spirit is highly important to her process. She is constantly aware of her intuition and enjoys trying out new forms of creative expression.

In addition to her visual and functional art, Paula is a singer in the group, Sunlight, with her husband, Aaron Lewis. Together, they also own Chroma Studios, an Albuquerque business and community where musicians and artists rent private studio spaces in a professional working environment. One of their biggest joys in this business is to encourage and mentor other artists and musicians to follow their dreams.

One response to “My 2015 Bio/Artist statement

  1. I love it Paula. I know what you mean writing about yourself never seems to get easier. It just feels odd. Thank you for sharing with us though.

Leave a Reply

