Long time!

It’s been too long since my last post. Lots going on in my private life right now. Half of August we were gone on vacation. We visited the Pacific NW for the first time ever and we really liked it! It was a great trip and we visited some friends and some family. Met a few of my facebook friends that I had never met in person before, plus a college friend I hadn’t seen since 1999!

original oil painting on canvas and wood

Orange flower triptych, 12 1/2 x 12 1/2″ oil on canvas and wood, $215

I’m back to work in my studio, mainly been working on getting my coloring books out in the world. Yesterday, I started on a new coloring page design. I’m having so much fun with these mandala drawings!

mandala pencil drawing in progress

New coloring page mandala in progress

A couple of weeks ago, I was feeling down and in a dark place. For whatever reason, I decided that I should add some black paint to a few older paintings, just to see what they would look like. I really am happy with the outcome. I didn’t actually use black paint out of the tube, but mixed my own black with Ultramarine blue and Olive green. It’s on old artist trick to make the black more luminous.

original oil painting on canvas and wood

Green flower triptych, 12 1/2 x 12 1/2″ oil on canvas and wood, $215

The painting above is being auctioned in my facebook fan group, starting bid $40! If you are interested, you must be a member of the group to bid! To join the group, go to THIS PAGE and click the join button. 🙂

I guess the main reason I haven’t posted here in so long is that I’m feeling like I’m at a turning point with my art and I’m not sure where it’s going next. I’m working on simplifying things, but with all the art I have piled up in my studio, that’s not an easy task. Stay tuned, I promise to keep you in the loop! 🙂

original oil painting on canvas and wood

Yellow flower triptych, 12 1/2 x 12 1/2″ oil on canvas and wood, $215

Leave a Reply

