Winding down the year

photo of me and Aaron

It’s nearly impossible to get a serious photo taken with my husband!

I promise to be better about posting next year! (lol, sure, Paula, sure!) Seriously though, my show opened at the Fuller Lodge Art Center on Saturday, December 6th. I should have been here last week, posting about the opening and how much fun we had…., but I spent last week with the “after show funk”. For those of you who don’t know this phenomena, this is what happens after an artist has worked for months to put a show together, had fun at the opening and then wakes up on Monday morning with the thought, “now what?”

Silly guy!

Silly guy!

The opening went well and though I didn’t have any sales the night of, I’m confident that sales will occur in the weeks between the opening and closing of the show. ๐Ÿ™‚ Tomorrow morning I will be interviewed by the local Los Alamos radio station on their weekly arts show. ๐Ÿ™‚

At least now you can see him! ;)

At least now you can see him! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I brought my husband and our band mate, Ray, to the opening and we had fun performing a few of our songs. We, I mean “I”, sang Christmas carols with the daughter of the Director of the gallery. (The guys DON’T sing Christmas songs!) So much fun helping to inspire a young aspiring singer! ๐Ÿ™‚ She was so awesome, even if she was very nervous about singing in front of people.

Finally! A decent photo, ok, well, maybe not. ;-)

Finally! A decent photo, ok, well, maybe not. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We stopped in Santa Fe on the way home to have dinner and ended up waiting longer than it would have taken us to just drive home and make dinner. I guess that’s what we get for eating out in Santa Fe on a Saturday night without reservations. Lesson learned! The food was delicious though and it was nice to not have to cook for a change.

peace and flowers oil painting

Almost finished with this one! 10 x 10″ oil on canvas

I’ve been back in the studio again since Thursday, it took a few days to shake off the funk! So, here’s a couple WIP photos for you. Next show has been scheduled for here in Albuquerque in February. I will have more details coming soon!

hands and flowers original oil painting

WIP, detail, 8 x 12″ oil on canvas

 

Leave a Reply

