“Desert Textures”

It’s finally done! 🙂 I cannot even remember how long ago I first conceived of the idea of this series of photographs. It’s been months for sure. There are 14 images so far all together, with more on the way.

I created a poster that features twelve of the close up images. The Desert Textures series is just the first of several Textures series I have planned. The next grouping is “Sky Textures”.

heart flower painting in progress

Current “Words” series painting, still a work in progress

I’m still working on the “Words” painting series alongside this photography series. I have the next painting on my table now, progress photo above.

Photography has always been a favorite side project of mine. I majored in Photojournalism my first year in college and learned how to develop my own film, black and white of course.

I have always said the only reason I didn’t become a professional photographer is because I never seem to have my camera with me when the perfect shot comes my way. I decided last year to change that and bought my first iPhone. I found the Instagram app and that inspired me to start my textures series.

My other current side project is “Sunlight”, a music group I sing in with my husband, Guitar Aaron and our friend, Ray. I guess it’s true what they say about creatives, our attention span is short! I like to think of it as multitasking! There are just so many creative projects to accomplish, and it’s all so much fun! 🙂

Sunlight is going on a short regional tour in March! We will play venues in Phoenix, Tucson, and Bisbee, AZ as well as Albuquerque and Las Cruces NM.

Singing has always been a dream of mine, since I was a wee one. It’s a project we started about 1 1/2 years ago and it has been nothing but a great time! I’m living proof that you are never too old to follow your heart and live your dreams! 🙂

6 responses to ““Desert Textures”

  1. Everything works very well together and really says ‘desert textures.’ I really like the black and white color scheme, shadows and the ‘straight on’ angle and distance you chose to shoot the mud.

  2. we live for color and textures not only in nature but our work..nature remains the ruler of all things including our nature! beautiful Paula

  3. Thanks Denise, so true! 🙂

  4. Wonderful works Paula! It’s great to see what you have been doing. ❤ I miss your ACEOs. Do you think that you'll ever make them again? *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

