“Words”

oil painting on canvas and wood

“Touch the Soul, Touch the Heart”, 12 1/2 x 12 1/2″ oil on canvas and wood, SOLD

2014 has been a great year so far! I had planned on continuing my weekly blog posts, but my computer had a different plan. I love my iMac but it’s getting a bit old (6 years this October). I decided to take it in for a checkup and we found out that the hard drive was fried. Long story short, I had to have a new hard drive installed and then had to buy a new external cd drive (the old drive hasn’t worked for years, but I had to get a new one to reinstall my software on the new hard drive). Needless to say, it’s been a few weeks since I’ve had a working computer. It took a few days for our computer guy to retrieve my files from the old HD, luckily I didn’t lose any files! Then I had to wait for the cd drive to be shipped before I could reinstall, yadda yadda yadda!

oil painting on canvas board

“Love Yourself”, 8 x 8″ oil on canvas board, SOLD

Today I have my fully functioning computer back! Thank goodness it cost me under $250! Much better than the $1,500 it would have cost for a new computer!

In the meantime, I have been a painting machine! Not only did I complete 8 new paintings last month, I sold 5 of them before they were complete!

I’m working on a couple of new series currently. One is called “Words” and it’s a collaboration with a good friend or mine. We first met because he was a long time friend of my dad’s. Since my dad’s death in 2008 we’ve kept in touch and last year he came for an extended visit here in Albuquerque.

He recently retired and has been writing poetry. We discussed this long before his visit and I expressed interest in collaborating on a book of poetry with my art for illustrations. This is where the “Words” series began.

Honestly, I cannot remember how long we talked about it before I FINALLY got to work on some new art work specifically for this project. At first, I had thought I would use older pieces that fit his themes, but as I thought about it more I decided it would be much better if I included some of the words from his poems/quotes into my paintings.

Last month I painted 5 paintings for this series, two have my words in them not his, so they aren’t really part of the collaboration but I am including them in the series anyway. I don’t currently have my friend’s permission to post his quotes but I will share the paintings that were inspired by them. Remember, the words in the paintings are just a few key words from the actual quotes/poems.

original acrylic painting on vinyl record

“Fool of Love”, acrylic paint markers on 12″ vinyl record, SOLD

The second series I’m working on is a continuation of my recycled vinyl series. These new paintings are a bit different however. In the past, my record paintings have all had a spiral in the middle section. These are “In the Flow” records and don’t have the spiral in the middle.

original acrylic painting on vinyl record

“Moonlight”, acrylic paint markers on 12″ vinyl record, SOLD

The titles for these paintings are located on the label of the record and I have circled the title on the record and then the painting has evolved organically from the label, sometimes incorporating a design or element from the label itself in the finished painting. I’m really loving this series and apparently so are others as I’ve already sold 3 of them!

original acrylic painting on vinyl record

“Phoenix”, acrylic paint markers on 12″ vinyl record, SOLD

2 responses to ““Words”

  1. well I am glad these beauties were retrieved..xoxo

Leave a Reply

