The Big Adventure!

I’m not sure if I have talked about our big upcoming adventure here on the blog before. I guess now is a good time for it, seeing as we are only about 2 weeks from heading out!

If you have read my story, you know that I was a very young mom. I started having my sons at the age of 16. Being thrust into motherhood at such a young age had it’s pitfalls, but I prefer to look on the bright side of things. Though life was tough when I was in my late teens and twenties, the good side of that equation is the fact that now my sons are grown and I am still in my early forties!

My husband and I have been dreaming and planning for the eventual empty nest for years. Now that it’s here, we are ready and raring to go! Our youngest son actually graduated from high school just over 2 years ago. We decided to give him a couple of years before we left town.

Here we are now, a motor home sitting in our driveway, all of our belongings packed into storage or the RV, the house is almost completely ready for our tenants and we will be hitting the road in just under 2 weeks if all goes as planned. We still have quite a to do list to accomplish before we can go, but we are getting there!

Many people have misconceptions about exactly what we are up to, so I figured I would get into a bit more detail here on the blog. Traveling is something we have always wanted to do. We are NOT vacationing or even semi-retired though. We are going to be working while we travel. One of the things we couldn’t do when the kids were younger and still in school, was to tour the country with Aaron’s music. My husband, Aaron Lewis, has been a musician for 25 years. He put his career somewhat on hold all these years. Any musician will tell you that the only way to get your name out there and build a fan base is to tour, regularly. We have made a few trips here and there, but now we are putting our whole hearts into it! Now that Aaron and I are also performing as a duo, we have even more reason to tour.

Another thing we plan to spread around the country is my art work. When I first started out as an artist, over 20 years ago, we would travel around and sell my prints at various shops, galleries, etc. This was before the internet made selling art a bit easier. Even with the internet however, it’s still better to get out in person, visit the galleries I would like to place my art with and connect in person, face to face.

The most important aspect of this adventure is getting out in the world, meeting with fans and friends face to face! We look forward to meeting lots of wonderful people out there on the road, making new lasting friendships and memories we will cherish for the rest of our lives. We are taking our music and art with us and will continue to create new art and music as we go. Stay tuned for updates; blog posts, videos and pictures of our travels.

3 responses to “The Big Adventure!

  1. Reblogged this on Sunlight.

  2. If you happen to venture “far” out here to Indianapolis I’d love to see you two! 🙂

Leave a Reply

