Overwhelmed!

I have been SO overwhelmed lately! This past year has been a flurry of activity, trips, shows, art and music. Last July I decided that I would finally pursue my dream of becoming a singer. My husband and I formed “Sunlight” a folk duo playing cover songs and our own originals. Actually, my husband does most of the song writing. He has been a professional musician for many, many years. I’m the newbie to the whole thing.

At the time we started the music, my art was put on the back burner. I wasn’t feeling inspired AT ALL. That said, I’m not one of those artists who believes I need to be inspired to paint. I believe in painting with or without inspiration, it’s my JOB! It’s what I do. However, last year around this time I was questioning whether I even wanted to BE an artist anymore. Discouraged by who knows what now, I just stopped painting.

One day I was talking with my husband about my complete lack of motivation and he offhandedly said, “maybe you need to change your medium”. That statement started my mind wandering. Thinking back to the things I used to want to do with my life. When I was a young girl, I sang in the church choir and I wanted to be a singer. My brother and I used to perform “shows” for our parents.

Somehow, somewhere along the way, I gave up on that dream and became an artist. My second choice. It really made sense in the beginning, my kids were little, I could stay home with them.

During this past year, I have immensely enjoyed becoming a performing singer. Yet another of my lifelong dreams has come true.

I say I’m overwhelmed because about 6 months ago, my urge to paint came back. I’m sure I’m not the first and definitely won’t be the last “creative person” to carry two careers, music and art. I love them BOTH and am not willing to give up either. I guess I just need to figure out how to balance them both. Like I said, I’m overwhelmed. Working on figuring it all out. AND grateful and happy to be and do what I love everyday!

Leave a Reply

