On a Roll!

Me with Carolyn Carroll, owner of Bright Rain Gallery in Old Town Albuquerque. That's my art on the wall in the background!

Me with Carolyn Carroll, owner of Bright Rain Gallery in Old Town Albuquerque. That’s my art on the wall in the background!

This has been a fantastic week for me! I am just super grateful for all the manifestations in my life this week! I have been working towards a goal I set at the beginning of the year, to have 5 galleries showing my art by June 2013. As of Monday, I have two! Friday I met with the owner of Bright Rain Gallery in Old Town Albuquerque to show her a few paintings and prints. I was pleased to leave Old Town with my paintings and prints now represented by Bright Rain Gallery! Of course, I came straight home and posted my good news on my facebook page and within a day I had received an email from another gallery where I recently submitted my art. High Desert Art & Frame is up near the Sandia Mountains at the intersection of Montgomery and Tramway. I met with them on Monday and will be their featured artist in July of this year!

My paintings hanging at Bright Rain Gallery

My paintings hanging at Bright Rain Gallery

Yet another argument for following up with galleries once you submit. I sent email submissions to the first gallery in February. I didn’t hear back from them but decided to drop in while gallery hopping with a friend. I mentioned something to the gallery owner about my email while talking with her and she said she remembered my email and liked my work. She asked me to bring some paintings by sometime, which I did the next week. If I hadn’t followed up with her, my art may not be in that gallery. Another awesome note, I went by the gallery today to take a picture of my art on the walls (see above & below) and found out that since I dropped off my art on Friday, I had already sold 5 prints!

Paula Manning Lewis' art at Bright Rain Gallery

My prints are on the table below in a cute basket! ๐Ÿ™‚

The second gallery was reminded to contact meย  because of my post on facebook. So, another great reason to use Facebook. ๐Ÿ™‚ As if I needed another reason!

Acrylic painting on vinyl record, in progress

Acrylic painting on vinyl record, in progress

Needless to say, now that I have a show coming up in July, I have some painting to do. I have been slowly getting back to the studio, painting for what seems like the first time in forever (it’s actually been 7 months since I painted regularly!). Today I had a good friend call me to ask if I would mind if she came and watched me paint, so we had a great time painting alongside each other. (FYI, don’t ask to watch me paint unless you are ready to dive in and paint alongside me! ๐Ÿ™‚ I finished my first small painting in a while and worked on my record painting a bit more, almost done with it.

oil painting

Joyful, 8 x 8″ oil painting

I ordered canvas stretcher bars this morning and plan to get going on a new series as soon as they arrive. It sure feels good to get back to my art! I have been having so much fun making music with my husband though! I just have to figure out how to make time for both. Easy peasy!

5 responses to “On a Roll!

  1. Paula, love how you are manifesting! You are such an inspiration and love the new piece that you painted today.

    • Sylvia,
      It’s blowing my mind really! It’s the result of years of building myself up and FINALLY getting my art out there! Thanks for your kind comment! ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to seeing you soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • thanks Sylvia! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m so excited for you Paula!! I have also found that the majority of my sales come from the reminders and not the initial offer. You go girl ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

