This week’s art auction, etc.

original pencil acrylic painting on canvas board daily journal painting

"Believe in Yourself", 8 x 8" pencil and acrylic on canvas board

This week’s art auction is for a painting I did yesterday. Usually, I auction off older pieces, but this week I decided to put this one up. It’s a new idea that I was inspired to create and I’m excited about how it turned out. Albuquerque artist, Rachel Harris, inspired me after seeing one of her paintings in a local art show last Friday. I love the way she used pencil drawings in the under layer, then painted over, leaving the pencil showing through. I once, long, long ago made landscape paintings with pencil and watercolor and I have always loved the way pencil and color look together. Below is an example of one of my old landscapes.

original watercolor pencil painting landscape

"La Cueva", 18 x 24" watercolor and pencil, 1996

As a matter of fact, I still have prints of this painting available that I don’t think I’ve listed anywhere! The rocks are all done in pencil with the top and bottom in watercolor. I did a whole series of this style of paintings.

ETC., I am feeling much better after venting my feelings here on the blog yesterday. I have made a vow to myself to be more real and stop putting my persona out as an ONLY a happy go lucky, everything’s always perfect person. I mean, for the most part, I AM that person, but like everyone, I have my dark side too. I have decided that it’s time to take off my mask and be real, no matter how it may appear to people on the outside. This is ME, warts and all! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

