Stepping out of my comfort zone…

Made a trip up to Santa Fe today. Aaron and I rode the train up from Albuquerque, got there right around lunch so we ate some yummyness at Tomasita’s and then headed right up to Canyon Road.  The purpose of the trip was to scout out galleries to submit my art to. I have been without a gallery in Santa Fe for around 15 years now. It’s time to dive back in! This has been a goal of mine for at least 10 years, but it wasn’t until the past couple of years that I have felt confident enough with my body of work to actually do something about it. This is seriously stepping out of my comfort zone, I have always been intimidated by Santa Fe and Canyon Rd. specifically. The galleries I sold my work in previously were not “Fine” art galleries, they were more of the tourist trap variety (just off the Plaza). I will only say they are no longer there. Plus, my art is completely different now!

This was probably my 4th or 5th trip up to “scout” galleries on Canyon Rd. Every time I do it, I find a couple I like. I even submitted to one or two the first time I tried, and was quickly rejected. I was painting landscapes back then. I feel confident that my work now is completely original and much better executed. I KNOW I can find a gallery in Santa Fe to show my work! This is where the hard part comes in. Walking up and down Canyon Rd. looking at art/galleries is easy, it’s fun in fact, one of my favorite things to do! Coming home, going through the business cards I picked up, checking out their websites for submission guidelines, also fairly easy. Putting together my submissions, re writing my bio, statement and updating my resume…. a bit more difficult. Sending the submissions…nerve wracking! Waiting for replies? Absolute torture! Knowing this, I also know it’s time. I must step out of my comfort zone and go for it. I know I’m ready and I know there is a gallery for my work in Santa Fe. The trick is to not chicken out this time! 🙂

2 responses to “Stepping out of my comfort zone…

  1. I’m so excited for you, Paula. Be bold! Like your art!

Leave a Reply

