Following Your Dreams! (my story)

“Follow your heart

where ever it takes you

and be happy

Life is brief and very fragile

and only loaned to us for a while

Wake up every morning

with the thought

that something wonderful

is about to happen!

~ author unknown

I have my parents and grandparents to thank for always encouraging me to follow my dreams. I knew I wanted to be an artist from the age of 13. Though they asked once or twice, “how are you going to support yourself”, they never doubted that I could or WOULD do it! Now I realize, not everyone is that blessed! I also had plenty of other people (step father, in laws, friends, teachers) telling me I was crazy to go for a career as an artist.”Why not just wait until you retire to pursue your art?” “You can always do your art as a hobby”, “you should have something to fall back on” etc etc. Every time I heard something like this it just drove me more, motivated me to “prove them all wrong”. That’s me, always been a bit hard headed, stubborn, ready to take on a dare!

I have always felt an inner drive to be an artist, like it was something within me that I could not deny. No matter how hard I tried to “grow up” and do all the things people told me I “should”. Like “get a real job”, or “go to college for something practical”. As I got older I learned some valuable lessons on listening to others instead of following my heart. My heart knew all along what I was “supposed” to be doing.

After going to college so I could “have a career” as a Computer Aided Drafter, I worked in the field for almost 3 years. Though I had a great salary, benefits and a regular business work schedule, I was completely miserable! I had nightmares almost nightly about dying, being chased and shot down, falling off cliffs, etc. I had all but given up my art after spending five years selling my prints all over the world. I finally checked out a book on dreams and interpreted my dreams as a sign that I was killing my soul, I was on the wrong path, I wasn’t living my dreams in my waking life, so I was dying in my sleep every night. That was when I decided I needed to get back to my purpose in life, back to following my dreams! I walked out of my job one day and never went back, literally! I just told my boss I wasn’t feeling well and left! I later sent him an email telling him I wouldn’t be coming back. He was very understanding and told me that my job would be there if I ever wanted to come back. That was over 11 years ago!

After my dad passed away in April 2008, I started reading books on spirituality, the law of attraction, love, awareness, etc. I have discovered since then, for me anyway, life is all about following dreams, following your heart and living life on purpose. God/Universe/Divine, whatever you call your higher power, gave me these gifts to SHARE! My purpose is to use the gifts I was given, they were given for a reason. What better way to show gratitude for those gifts?

I truly believe EVERYONE has a purpose! Everyone has a reason for living, a gift to share! The pure joy of this thought is the fact that we all have different purposes, we all have different dreams, like no two people are alike, no two dreams are alike. Your inner self KNOWS your purpose all you have to do is LISTEN! I would like to be one of the people who encourages you to “Follow your dreams”! If I can do it, anyone can!

“The only thing that will stop you from fulfilling your dreams is you” ~ Tom Bradley

“Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.” ~Gail Devers

Leave a Reply

