Painting Video

Here it is! My first painting video! I’m still teaching myself to edit and have not figured out how to speed up the video for a time lapse. If anyone out there knows how to do this in imovie 08, please please please let me know! So, I had to cut out several sections to make it under the 15 minute max limit. I am sure these videos will get better with time and practice. Enjoy!

and here are a couple photos of the completed painting…..

oil painting on canvas original

Untitled, 6 x 6" oil on canvas


oil on canvas original painting

side view

4 responses to “Painting Video

  1. Hello,

    I’ve made my time lapse painting videos in iMovie, but I bought my MacBook in 2006, I’m not sure if the program is set up the same as iMovie 08. The way I made the time speed up is by going to the “Editing Section”, and then “Video FX” section, and then there is an effect for “Fast, Slow, Reverse”. Usually I end up applying this effect multiple times. A lot of the videos I make are of paintings that took between 1-3 hours and they end up being 3-4 minutes after I’ve edited the footage.

    I hope this helps. If you’re interested, you can see some of my painting videos by going here:

    http://www.youtube.com/my_playlists?p=422A3D0CC3F29395&sf=added&sa=0

    Jon Cooney

  2. Hey Paula,

    Good job! I’m also just learning now. I’m glad to know someone else at the same stage as me 😉

    Ali x

Leave a Reply

