Back to me, maybe? Someday!

I’ve been so busy with the gallery, it seems to be taking over my life! Not that it’s a bad thing, I’m really enjoying it, I just have been neglecting my art and myself because of it. Time just keeps speeding by me at the speed of light. I’m living in a dream world, everything is going so awesome right now! Chroma Studios won an award for the Best New Business in downtown Albuquerque last Saturday night! How cool is that? I didn’t even know there was such an award until we got the notice of nomination. The awards banquet was awesome! All kinds of local celebrities were there, news people, politicians, artists, business owners. I spoke with the mayor and invited him to our gallery opening this Friday, got a call from his office, so apparently he will be attending!

Everything is so awesome, wish my dad was here to see it all! I’m so overwhelmed at how quickly everything is happening, I’m convinced dad has something to do with it all. Wherever he may be now. Every so often, I still feel his energy around me. The other day when Michael Jackson died it was extremely strong. We both loved Michael’s music. Thriller was an album that brought us together at a difficult phase of my life, I believe I was 13-14 when it came out. We were both heavily into MTV at the time. Dad LOVED the Thriller video, especially the part where Vincent Price did the voice over and laugh. I was really affected by MJ’s death. Death has a different effect on me since dad died. It’s like all the emotion of losing dad comes back to the surface again. I wonder if it will ever go away. I feel bad for MJ’s kids, they are so young. 

Funny how I can go from being totally happy and content, to sad and empty in an instant by thinking about that loss. I guess it’s a good thing so many great things are happening to keep my mind off it. Life is good and life goes on and I have so much more of it to live! I’m grateful for it all. It’s so cliché, but it’s all these things that have made me the person I am today.

Last night I had a wonderful talk with my oldest son who was feeling down and doubtful about his life right now. I heard words coming from my mouth that I remember hearing from my dad years and years ago. All that wisdom that I brushed off as bullshit 20 years ago, makes all the sense in the world right now. I’m grateful that I had such an awesome dad and that I can now pass that wisdom and advice on to my sons. Maybe someday when I’m gone, my son will hear the same words coming out of his mouth for the benefit of his children. I hope so. Thanks Dad!

Leave a Reply

