Open Studio

Paula Manning's studio space

My studio, all clean, pretty and ready for visitors this past Saturday

This past Saturday I opened my studio to the public. Unfortunately, this is the only photo I took! I used to be so good about getting photos during events like this. Not sure when I stopped. I was having so much fun socializing and greeting visitors that I totally forgot to grab my camera!

I guess this means I will have to a paint a picture with words for you. My husband, Aaron Lewis, aka Guitar Aaron, played his classical guitar for us in the front lobby of Chroma Studios. Three other artists opened their studios too. Victoria Bryers in studio #3, Tricia Thorp in studio #5 and Jasmine Carpenter in studio #6. My studio is #7. We had a table set up with refreshments in the back hallway/kitchen area.

The evening began with an ITEX member meeting. ITEX is a barter network that I am a member of. If you have ever thought about barter as a way of being, you absolutely, must check out ITEX. We had a toast with some yummy sparkling wine and I mingled with new people I hadn’t met before.

I was happy to see several artist friends that I haven’t seen in literally YEARS. After all, it has been just over two years since I last opened my studio to the public.

Towards the end of the evening a group of young artists came into the studio. They were dressed to impress and impress they did. One of them began by asking questions about how he should go about approaching local galleries about showing his art work. I offered my advice, basically, scout out all the galleries you can find and when you find one that you think your art would fit into, ask about their submission policy.

I asked them all some questions and found out they had JUST moved to Albuquerque from Virginia. Like four days ago. I so enjoyed talking with these young people. I was reminded of myself at that age. They were almost surprised that I was offering so much information to them. Of course, I said, I remember being where they are now. I remember not having anyone to ask these questions. I have always promised myself that I would help out young artists as much as was possible with my knowledge, gained over the past 23 years of being an artist.

I have been considering teaching a workshop on this topic and I think this encounter has pushed me over the edge of decision. I have decided that it’s important for me to share what I have learned. If I can help just one artist avoid the mistakes, trial and error I endured, it would be worth it. I guess I had better get myself in gear and write some workshop plans!

I hope that you all are having a great start to the New Year! 2014 is going to be a GREAT year, I can just FEEL it!

2 responses to “Open Studio

  1. had a lot of fun the other night…great to see you at Chroma…

Leave a Reply

